Wheat Programs
Research Results
Arkansas Ag Statistics
Internet Resources
Arkansas Rice Promotion Board

Arkansas Rice Promotion Board
About The Board
Arkansas Rice Check-Off

Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion Board

The Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion Board consists of 9 rice producers, nominated by industry organizations and appointed by the Governor. Terms last two years, and while members contribute many hours of their time administering the program, they serve without pay. The members are:

   Bryan Moery, Wynne, Chairman
   Jay Coker, Stuttgart, Vice Chairman
   Bobby Hoard, Marianna, Secretary/Treasurer

Joe Christian, Jonesboro

   David Gairhan, Jonesboro
   Marvin Hare, Newport
   Rich Hillman, Carlisle
   Roger Pohlner, Fisher
   Wayne Wiggins, Jonesboro

About the Program

The Arkansas rice industry has a long history of support for research and promotion programs. With the founding of the Rice Council in the late 1950's, Arkansas' rice producers voluntarily contributed a portion of the profits from each crop to promote rice domestically and abroad. In the late 1970's, farmers began voluntarily contributing to a fund specifically for research. In 1985, the programs were combined into one state agency, the Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion Board, created by Act 725 of 1985. The act set an initial refundable rate of 2 cents per bushel with an automatic increase to 3 cents per bushel in 1987. 1.65 cents of each assessment was set aside for research, while 1.35 cents was reserved for promotion and market development activities.

The program has undergone changes since that time, resulting the current program. Act 16 of 1999 created a mandatory assessment of 1.35 cents per bushel to be paid by the producer, and 1.35 cents to be paid by the first buyer. The funds are used to conduct a program of research, promotion and market development. Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion Board

Since the Board's inception in 1985, the following men and women have dedicated countless hours to improve the productivity and profitability of the rice industry in Arkansas by serving on the Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion Board.


   • Harvey Adams 1985-1986

   • Tommy Hillman 1985-1995, Chair 1985-1988

   • Milton Lemmons 1985-1990

   • Jon Lambi 1985-2004, Sec. 1993-1995, Vice 1995-1997, Chair 1997-1999

   • Joe Rennicke 1985-2002, Vice 1985-1988, Chair 1988-1990

   • Gary Sebree 1985-1988, Sec. 1985-1988

   • John King, Jr., 1985-1998, Sec. 1992-1993, Vice 1993-1995, Chair 1995-1997

   • L.F. Seidenstricker 1985-1987

   • Bill Rasco 1985-1994, Sec. 1988-1990, Vice 1990-1992, Chair 1992-1993

   • David Hillman 1986-1999, Vice 1988-1990, Chair 1990-1992

   • Carl Morrison III 1987-1997, Sec. 1995-1996

   • Jerry Hoskyn, 1988-2010, Sec. 1990-1992, 2003; Vice 1992-1993, Chair 1993-1995, Sec. 2003-2005, Vice 2005-2007, Chair 2007-2009

   • Martha Ahrent 1991-1996, 1997-2000, Vice 1997-1999, Chair 1999-2000

   • George Dunklin 1994-2005, Sec. 1999-2001, Vice 2001-2003, Chair 2003-2005

   • Marvin Hare 1995-present, Sec. 1997-1999, Vice 1999-2001, Chair 2001-2003, Sec. 2009-2011, Vice 2011-2013, Chair 2013-present.

   • Regina Coleman 1996-1999

   • Bryan Moery 1998-present, Sec. 2001-2003, Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion BoardVice 2003-2005, Chair 2005-2007, Sec. 2011-2013,
Vice 2013-present.

   • Greg Baltz 1999-2001

   • John Andrews 1999-2004

   • Randy Veach 2001-2002

   • Rusty Smith 2001-2011

   • Rich Hillman 2002-present, Sec. 2007-2009, Vice 2009-2011, Chair 2011-2013

   • Wayne Wiggins 2002-present, Sec. 2005-2007, Vice 2007-2009, Chair 2009-2011

   • Joe Christian 2004-present

   • Roger Pohlner 2004-present

   • John Alter 2006-2013

   • Jay Coker 2010-present, Vice 2013-present.

   • Mike Sullivan 2011-2015

   • Bobby Hoard, 2013-present

   • David Gairhan, 2015-present

About the Board  |  Rice Programs  |  Publications  |  Research Results
Arkansas Ag Statistics  |  Internet Resources  |  Home

P.O. Box 31
Little Rock, AR 72203-0031

Copyright ©2016 Arkansas Rice Research and Promotion Board
All Rights Reserved | Web Services by Aristotle Web Design.
Privacy Policy